On My Way, Decided

A double header for the start of summer, a little twinge in the heart and the ghost of a love letter.

First: Down in the Valley by The Head and the Heart. The build in this tune is the kind of rush you get after a long climb. As you look down into the valley you crawled out of, heart pounding as a gust of wind whips by, you cannot imagine wanting to be anywhere else. “I know there’s California, Oklahoma / And all of the places I ain’t ever been to / But down in the valley with whiskey rivers / These are the places you will find me hidin’ / These are the places I will always go.”

And then we have the Avett Brothers’ with Head Full of Doubt/Road Full of Promise. The song starts mid-turn, then clears so you can hear “There’s a darkness upon me that’s flooded in light / In the fine print they tell me what’s wrong and what’s right.” And you will wonder for a moment before you realize that we’ve all see the darkness, cast in a light sometimes only we can see. “And it comes in black and it comes in white. / And I’m frightened by those that don’t see it.”

This song also contains a single line that feels like it was engraved on my soul: “Decide what to be and go be it.

Leave a Reply

