Greg Holden’s The Lost Boy, found its way to me via my new obsession: Sons of Anarchy (I know I’m late to that party). The song was inspired by a book, What is The What about a Sudanese refugee, one of the Lost Boys of Sudan–the more than 20,00 boys displaced and/or orphaned by the second Sudanese Civil War (between 1983-2005).

The song starts in an aching key, sad and slow. Holden’s mellow voice tells the story of a boy sent away from his family and a reunification that never occurred. But the boy does, as many of us do throughout our lives, make “brothers of a different kind instead.”

A piano tinkles in, like a child stepping stone-to-stone over a river. Momentarily hopeful, the song continues, nonetheless, in a troubled vein.

And in the time I didn’t know,
Just how hard the wind could blow
Towards disaster, and the things that I would see

Holden describes the naivete of childhood, the discovery of the ragged edges of existence and the infuriating notion that maybe we’re meant for more, that maybe the world can be a better place.

I know there’s greed and there’s corruption
I’ve seen death and mass destruction
But I’m telling you, and I hope that I’m heard

When the chorus kicks in, Holden declares that he (the boy) will not be commanded, he will not be controlled. He will not let the troubles of life rob him of a moral compass.

And I will not let my future go on,
Without the help of my soul

Words to live by.

And yes, this is the start of a series I’m unimaginatively dubbing Music Mondays (which is apparently what everyone else in the entire bloggotwittersphere calls it). Every Monday I’ll post something musical–an old favorite, a new obsession.

The Lost Boy

Leave a Reply

