And if you listen very hard
The tune will come to you at last.
When all are one and one is all
To be a rock and not to roll.

And she’s buying a stairway to heaven.

Rodrigo y Gabriela’s rendition of Stairway to Heaven has worked itself gently into my daily commute via worn, fraying earbuds. One moment, I’m sitting on the Metro listening to the gentle plucks of a distant-sounding guitar. The anticipation builds and suddenly two Spanish guitars are rollicking in my ears, pounding out a new rhythm for my heart to follow. The people around me must think I’m deranged, swaying to music they cannot hear, enviously  twitching my fingers over invisible strings. They don’t know what’s happening. It’s soul-shattering. And they’re just sitting there on the plastic seats, playing 2048 and ignoring the rending of my soul.

Listen to everything on Rodrigo y Gabriela’s eponymous second album and tell me your soul is not in a billion beautiful pieces after.

A Mexican Stairway to Heaven

Leave a Reply

