Human Parts: Oh, the Things I Learned from Daddy-O

A Birthday Present for My Father

I told my father I wanted to be a writer when I was fourteen. “Write what you know,” he replied. I didn’t understand what he meant. I thought he was mocking me.

What would you write about? You know nothing. You’ve lived a boring life.

At twenty-six, I am finally beginning to understand what he meant. I am finding my voice in the thousand little memories in which it hides and drawing from the countless lessons unknowingly learned from my father over the years.

***

Read the rest on Medium, it lives in Human Parts, an amazing collection of stories about being human curated by Stephanie Georgopulos.

One thought on “Human Parts: Oh, the Things I Learned from Daddy-O

  1. Pingback: Goodbye 2014 | Katie Putz

Leave a Reply

